Triangle

Tara:  Oh, hey, Blog. How are you?

Blog: “Oh, hey?” Is that all you have to say?

Tara: What’s wrong? You sound mad.

Blog: What’s wrong? You disappear for weeks, and then you show up all friendly, “Oh, hey,” like I’m not supposed to notice or anything?

Tara:  Okay – what is going on?

Blog:  I can’t believe you could treat me like this.  I thought you were better than that.

Tara:  I have no idea what you’re talking about.

Blog:  It’s that book, isn’t it? You’ve been writing that book.

Tara:  I never lied to you about the book. I told you I was writing a book.

Blog:  But you used to write the book AND write me.  So what happened?  All of a sudden you’re in love with the book, and I’m out like last week’s loser on Project Runway?

Tara:  You know I care about you.  That hasn’t changed.

Blog:  But you’re in love with that book, right?

Tara: Don’t compare yourself.  It’s totally different. I don’t love the book more than you, it’s just …

Blog: What?  The book is all literary and stuff, and I’m just a little amusement? I have feelings, you know.

Tara: Blog, come on. Stop it.  Yes, it’s true, I have been spending a lot of time with the book lately.  I needed to commit.  It’s just something I had to do. But that doesn’t mean I don’t still like you.

Blog: Whatever.

Tara: You each give me different things.  The book is deeper.

Blog: Thanks a lot. I can be deeper, you know. You’ve never tried to be deeper with me.

Tara: I don’t want you to be deeper.  I like you the way you are.  You’re fun. You’re … easy.

Blog:  Great. That’s what every blog wants to hear.  “You’re easy.” I’m so glad I’m here for you to have your little fun with.

Tara: Look, I’m sorry. I know I haven’t been around as much lately, and that was wrong of me. But this is something I really have to do right now.

Blog:  But I can help you.  You need me, you know.  You think you’re just going to write a book and ride off into the sunset? What about a platform, huh? What about publicity?  What about an audience.  I can give you all those things.

Tara: I know.  I know.  And I want those things – I really do. But right now, I can’t think about that.  I just have to write!

Blog: So write me! You used to love writing me! You wrote me every day! We had fun.  Don’t tell me you didn’t feel it, because I know you did.

Tara: I did. I still do.  Why are you making me choose? I want both of you.  Lots of writers have both.

Blog:  But you have to give me something – a little attention, a post here and there.  I’m not a saint, you know.  I have needs too!

Tara:  I’m sorry.  I am.  I know I’ve been neglecting you.  But I do need you.  I do want you there with me.

Blog:  Words are easy.  You of all people should know that.

Tara: I just … I need a little space right now.  I just need to write the book.  It’s going really well, and I don’t want to lose momentum.

Blog:  Look. You do whatever you have to.  I’m not going to hang around waiting for your scraps, is all I’m saying.

Tara:  I understand.  I’m going to try to make it work.  I really am.

Blog: I don’t want empty promises.  I want posts.  That’s all I’ve wanted from you. It doesn’t have to be every day.  Once a week is fine.

Tara:  Really? You’re willing to do that?

Blog: Of course.  I’m with you in this.  I’m part of this.  I want what’s best for you.  Once a week.  That’s all I’m asking. Can you do that?

Tara: Yes.  I can.  I promise.  I’ll change.  You’ll see!

Blog:  All right.  Good.  I feel better now.

Tara:  I’m glad.  I’ve missed you, you know?

Blog: Don’t try to butter me up now.  Go – write the book.  But remember – once a week.

Tara:  Thanks, blog.  I won’t let you down.

Blog:  And chocolate works, too.  Just so you know.

3 Comments on “Triangle”

  1. One of your best posts ever.

    Best always,
    – Peter

  2. Kelli says:

    OMG… I have been there so many times! Thanks and bless you for making me laugh at myself.

  3. Susan Treadwell says:

    Fantastic! I’m catching up on your life, and enjoying your writing at the same time. xo


Leave a Reply

