Job Search – Job of the Day

I was perusing the job boards today, as I am wont to do, and I noticed a posting for “Physician – General Surgery.” Right there on Jobs.com.

Frankly, I was shocked. You’d think that physicians would have their own special site for job hunting. Jobs.com is sort of the equivalent of the cork board at the local community center, where you might find ads like “Rooomate wanted! Must love cats!” or “Seek driver to share expenses on cross-country trip. Must love cats!” or “Tutor needed for dyslexic. Must love cast!”

But there it was – a job posting for “Physician – General Surgery.” Upon closer examination, I saw that the job requirements specified someone who could do “colonoscopies, endoscopies and other GI related procedures.” Perhaps that explains it? Not a huge rush on those gastrointestinal positions?

I suppose it’s just another sign of the times. Everyone is looking for ways to cut back. Until they figure out a way to conduct a physical exam over Skype with a doctor in India, we still have to actually appear in person at the doctor’s office (in my case, a vaguely Kafkaesque HMO, with a disinterested front-desk clerk and hostile nurses.)

Perhaps instead of recruiting from Harvard or John Hopkins University, the decision to go with Jobs.com is an attempt at belt-tightening. I know we all have to make adjustments in this economy, but the whole thing makes me a little uneasy. I’m not sure I’m comfortable with an employment service that caters to both the guy searching for computer engineering jobs and the guy searching my large intestine for polyps.

Oh well. That’s the world we live in now. In a way, it gives me hope. Maybe tomorrow I’ll find a listing for the job I’m really looking for, “Observational humor writer. Seeking self-starter with ability to stare at blank wall for hours. Must love cats!”

3 Comments on “Job Search – Job of the Day”

  1. Imogen says:

    And who was the employer who advertised? Is there such a lack of doctors that that this is the new recruitment strategy?

  2. Kari says:

    That *is* surprising. However, I think you’re right that a lot of businesses (and potentially hospitals, I guess) are using cheaper recruiting methods. While job searching this summer, I actually had much more luck finding interesting positions through Craigslist rather than the larger job search sites or searching for openings on businesses’ websites.

    I wish you the best of luck on finding something promising. The economy is awful, and I know friends and family members who are aware that they will probably lose their jobs in the near future, but I’ve also seen several long-term job searchers find jobs within the last month, so maybe the job market is starting to pick up. (I hope so, at least.)

    And on that note, thanks so much for your congratulations on my new job. I’m really surprised and excited that it worked out and hope it will be a good long term fit.

  3. editor says:

    tonight i will go to bed dreaming of finding my ideal job listing – i have never seen it yet.


Leave a Reply

