Hello, I Must Be Going …

I’m going underground for ten days. So to speak. I’ve got a humongazoid project with a strict deadline, and I’ll be living, eating, sleeping in front of the computer for the next ten days straight. I’ll be mainlining coffee and scrounging whatever is in the pantry because I won’t even have time to go out for groceries. I expect at the end of the ten days I’ll be wandering around my house in pajamas with stringy hair reciting nursery rhymes. I will have no time, alas, for updating the blog or browsing the Pottery Barn website. (Nooooooooo!)

Anyway – I’m going to rerun a few old posts you may not have seen before. I hope they will entertain you. If you’ve already read every single post on the blog, I apologize. Just think of it as summer reruns.

Today I leave you with a post about the future, trusting the universe, and health insurance.

*******************************************************************************************

Fenestration
February 13, 2008

I’ve been dealing with a “situation” lately, and while I can’t go into specifics, I can say that it has to do with career and it’s one of those times when you have to take a long hard look at your choices and examine your life and make a Big Decision.

Boy, do I hate that.

Do you know that old saying “When God closes a door, He opens a window?”

Well, it’s sort of ticking me off. Does God really want me jumping out the window right now? Because that just seems so dramatic. I mean, I totally will. You know – for God and all. It’s just that I tend to not be that athletic, so I’m thinking the landing is going to not be an enjoyable thing. I might break something is what I’m thinking. (NOTE TO SELF: CHECK HEALTH INSURANCE POLICY REGARDING EMERGENCY CARE)

I don’t see why He can’t just make another door. When we renovated our house we hired a contractor who moved the bathroom door over about five feet, and it worked out really well. I’m thinking God could make a new door with His eyes closed.

Or – why can’t He just keep the door closed for a while, and be like “Okay, you stay in there and think about this situation.” And then, later, He can open the door and I can be like, “Wow, now that I’ve had a few hours to think about things I know what to do!”

Listen, if God wants me to jump out the window I’ll jump. But what happens after that? Most of what I know about jumping out of widows comes from cop shows like THE SHIELD. On that show people are constantly jumping out of windows and running away from Vic and the other members of the Strike Team. Does God want me to run like that? Wildly, through narrow alleys, jumping over backyard fences, dodging snarly dogs with the PoPo* after me? And what if I do hurt myself from the fall? How can I run away with a broken leg? And while I’m running, or limping away, am I supposed to be making this Big Decision? This just does not seem like a good plan.

But whatever. Who am I to tell God how to do things?

I’ll let you know how it all works out.

* PoPo = the police.

One Comment on “Hello, I Must Be Going …”

  1. Imogen says:

    Good luck with your big assignment – hope it’s bringing in big money for you!

    Given that I don’t believe in god – I will never have to personally try out that window issue!


Leave a Reply

