My Cat Needs A New Office Chair

Or else I do.

When I was working at an office, away from home for ten hours a day, my cat had four comfy spots she slept in: chair by window in living room, left pillow of bed in guest room, foot of bed in master bedroom, and in between the two seat cushions of the sofa in den.

Now that I am unemployed and spend my entire day in my home office at my computer searching for work and writing my book, my cat has one spot in which she sleeps. My office chair.

When I wake up in the morning and go to turn on my computer, she’s in my chair sleeping. If I am working and leave for two minutes to get a glass of water, when I return she’s in my chair sleeping. If I go out for groceries, when I come home she’s in my chair sleeping.

There is, apparently, nowhere else in the house that is suitable for her to sleep, now that I need my chair during the day. My husband, who goes out to work, has a chair two feet away from mine that is empty all day. She does not prefer that chair. Sometimes I move her to that chair so I can sit and work. She glares at me and either jumps into my lap (do you know how hard it is to type with cat-in-lap?) or starts poking me with her paw, and I have to take off my reading glasses and switch back into my regular glasses and get up and walk all the way through the house to let her out into the backyard. Sometimes I bring in a dining room chair and put it right next to mine, and move her onto that chair. She does not prefer that chair either. It has to be my office chair.

Sometimes I move my chair, with her still in it, away from my desk, and move my husband’s chair in front of my computer, but I don’t like his chair as much as I like MY OWN DAMN CHAIR.

I really feel if she’s going to be in my chair all day, the least she can do is finish my book and answer my e-mail, but so far that has not happened. I think I’m going to have to buy another chair exactly like my chair. If she doesn’t prefer to use that one, I’ll use it. Anything to get the book finished. But I can tell you this – if my cat thinks I’m dedicating my book to her, she can think again.

2 Comments on “My Cat Needs A New Office Chair”

  1. Imogen says:

    I think your cat just loves you and wants to be in your chair cos it’s yours.

    Get another chair exactly the same, that way you can sit on the one she’s not sitting on.

    Oh, and she’s going to sit on your lap no matter what you do.

  2. Chelsea says:

    My cat did the same thing too, I think it is just a comfort thing.


Leave a Reply

