A Lesson In Tolerance

If you ever get invited to your friends’ house for game night and you end up playing SCATTERGORIES and the letter is “K” and the subject is “languages” and at first you think of ‘Korean” but your team decides not to use that because there is a woman from Korea in one of the other teams and you figure she will for sure use that word and then you will cancel each other out because that is how the game works so you decide to use “Klingon” and several of the other teams challenge you saying that Klingon is not a “real” language and you almost don’t get credit for it, you should direct them to this article on the NPR site about a new Klingon opera, and this quote in particular:

“Thanks to Okrand’s work, thousands of people are conversant in Klingon — and, reportedly, some 100 speak it fluently.”

5 Comments on “A Lesson In Tolerance”

  1. sallymandy says:

    Hi Tara! I’m so glad you came over to my blog yesterday. I loved your comment, and I left you a response over there. Also, hope you don’t mind, I was so interested in what you said that I paraphrased some of it in today’s post,and linked to you.

    I’m going back to bed for a nap now–pooped out–but will come back very soon to read your blog. I’m glad I found it.

    love, sallymandy/thebluekimono.

  2. sallymandy says:

    Funny! I like your writing style.

    Okay, so weird trivia–many years ago I had a friend/boyfriend named Andre Bormanis who ended up becoming a science adviser to the Star Trek crews, and I’m pretty sure he is fluent in Klingon.

  3. I HEART Scattagories and my favorite is when the answers make no sense and people try to defend them. it is the best.
    p.s. Klingon is totally a language and a country. Just ask a Treky.

  4. Tara Zucker says:

    Sally – thanks for the compliments. It’s nice to get some positive feedback. Especially from you – you move me with every entry you post.

  5. Tara Zucker says:

    La Belette – I hope one day I am playing Scattergories and I get the letter “P” and the category is language. I am totally going to use “Pig Latin.”


Leave a Reply

