Adventures In Shopping With Ann Taylor

This story is completely true.

I recently ordered a necklace from the Ann Taylor internet site. It arrived yesterday.

With a little card.

Which was strange, because I don’t usually send myself a gift card when I order something for myself, although now that I think of it, I totally will, because why not? (“Hey you! You totally deserve this! Enjoy! Love, You”)

The gift card read as follows:

“Happy Birthday Presh! I can’t wait for you and JG to visit. I love you so much.
Love, Boo-Boo Kitty.”

Well. Okay then.

My first thought was the customer service department at Ann Taylor was having a slow afternoon and decided to get a little creative. If so, I’d really like to work there.

But then I thought, what if someone in shipping had just mixed up two orders. Two necklaces, exactly the same, only one gets a card and other doesn’t. Except the card went with the wrong box.

Maybe it really was Presh’s birthday. (Happy birthday Presh!) Maybe Boo-Boo Kitty actually had sent the necklace as a gift. (Nice taste, Boo-Boo!) I hope JG likes the way it looks on Presh, not that Presh NEEDS JG’s approval or anything. They don’t have that kind of relationship. They’re totally cool, and JG really likes Boo-Boo Kitty too, so it’s all good. I imagined Presh wearing the necklace out to drinks with JG, and they meet up with some friends and have a really good time. They even hoist a round to the absent yet generous Boo-Boo Kitty. They’re probably really nice people. Or possibly video game avatars.

I guess I’ll never really know.

If it all turns out to be some kind of viral marketing campaign, with these characters taking on lives of their own and ordering snappy outfits from Ann Taylor, I’m going to be a little bummed, because I totally want that job.

Unless someone out there knows the real Presh or Boo-Boo Kitty or JG.

In which case, Presh and I should coordinate, so we don’t both wear the necklace on the same day.

Leave a Reply

