Gonna Take You Higher

Dear Universe:

Look, you know I love you and everything. I love your lessons, I love your sense of humor, I love your sly hints at a meaningful endgame.

But here’s the thing. I still gotta be ME. We both know that I am a slightly grouchy and ever-cynical New Yorker. This is not going to change. So please, can you stop with the uplifting already? Last night I was inundated by so much uplifting I had to grab the end of the sofa so as not to take flight.

First, it was IDOL GIVES BACK, with the images of the sweet African children who could be saved from Malaria for the cost of a couple of cups of Starbucks, and children right here in our very own country, who need books, medicine, homes. All so sad, but totally changeable, if everyone pitches in.

Uplifting!

Then it was ABC’s THE LAST LECTURE: A Love Story for Your Life, a story about Randy Pausch’s indomitable will to enjoy life, despite having only months to live. Pausch talks about being honest in life and having fun and honoring childhood dreams. Sad, because he’s dying soon, but so inspirational because he’s living now.

More lifting in the direction of up!

Then it was a story on Nightline about Young @ Heart, the chorus made up of members all over the age of 70 who sing rock and roll songs. The age of the singers adds a startling element of compassion to angry lyrics about wasted lives and angst. Touching and ultimately life affirming.

So so uplifing!

I woke up this morning in a fog of uplift.

Are you trying to change me, Universe? Because I thought we had an understanding. I need to get back to wallowing in self pity because I was laid off from my job. I need to get back to obsessing about myself and my own relatively comfortable life (What Will Happen To ME???)

Geez. If I want to be uplifted I’ll go get a triple shot latte.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to run. I’m hosting a pity party for one, and I have hors d’oeuvres to make.

Love, Tara

One Comment on “Gonna Take You Higher”

  1. Dear Tara,
    Hello, Universe here.
    I am so sorry you have been misled by all of this uplifting nonsense, because the truth is, I do nothing. For anyone, at anytime, anywhere.

    I sit and gaze, because a long time ago I used to be called God, but I was laid off, also.

    But gosh, Tara, you sure could help me help you if I could have a bite of your sandwich. Just toss it up anywhere. I’ll find it.

    Thanks.

    Hungry Universe.


Leave a Reply

