This is My Now

What is every writer’s dream? It’s to be contacted by an editor at a major publication who has read your work and likes it and wants to do something with you.

This has happened to me.

I received an e-mail from an editor at a very well-known prestigious magazine. She’s been reading my blog! She wants to speak to me!

Does she want to syndicate me for a monthly column “Tara Talks Turkey,” a Nora Ephronesque collection of witty observations about daily life?

No.

Does she want to assign me to an article, subject of her choosing, where my wry sense of humor and witty way with words can reach millions of readers?

No.

Does she want to talk to me about some possible future freelance assignments, to which I will no doubt apply my own particular slightly skewed yet generally appealing sensibilities?

No.

She wants to interview me as part of an article they are putting together. I don’t want to give it away, but roughly, it’s about finding yourself in a place in your life where you didn’t expect to be. And not in a good way.

She wants to know about my new life as a non-contributing member of society, a worthless lay about with nothing to offer, a useless sloth dragging through each day with no purpose and little hope for the future.

I may be slightly exaggerating. She didn’t actually call me a sloth.

But I’m not one to look at the negative side. (Okay, I totally am.) But still – I’m finally getting recognition! This could be my big opportunity! Maybe my story of confusion and despair can help someone else get their life together. It’s too late for me! Save yourselves!

I am your humble servant, and I will do whatever I can.

3 Comments on “This is My Now”

  1. posthastemediainc says:

    With your knack for home decor and fashion, you could do a series about what to wear while writing about remodeling your home.

  2. Dear Dr. Zucker,
    Perhaps you could send this interviewer my way – I can tell her all about how a disabled person gets looked down on when needing to apply for Welfare, gets sent to eighteen different buildings, is given 9 different numbers to call, and is finally told they can drive out to Sun Valley for an interview, and GUESS WHAT! The food stamps will start right away, a whopping $238 a month, and the “relief” check will take longer, but when I get it, I can go wild! One hundred dollars a month!!

    Of course, they have to interview me and decide if I am worthy of these blessings.

    Oh! Our time is up.

    Thank you Dr. Zucker.

    See you next week!

  3. shanti says:

    ok, wait a minute –
    non-contributing member of society? I don’t think so! The fact that you write a blog contradicts that notion… for starters. There are thousands if not millions of people out of work who might be described as non-contributing, but you’re not one of them.

    worthless lay about with nothing to offer? Oh no you ditn’t just say that! Cyberspace just needs to know how to find you – do you have a my space page?

    useless sloth dragging through each day with no purpose and little hope for the future? oh please –
    So when will you reveal more about this interview?


Leave a Reply

